Kiss Those Binders Goodbye!

I thought that by now I would be settling into a curriculum and not creating lesson plans anymore. Alas, that’s not possible. Every time I re-write a lesson plan, I come up with something else to do. By the time I’ve gotten through 4 classes of the “same” lesson plan, it looks NOTHING like it did when I first wrote it. There are post-its all over them and writing and scribbles and about two extra activities than were originally planned…

I’ve had binders with separate tabs for three semesters now. And I hate them. I can never get the right binder separators, I can never get kids to keep all of their things in their binders. It’s just hard.

IMG_3557

And then I found this gem on Pinterest: The Curly Classroom. Not only is this woman’s hair BEAUTIFUL, but she is a BOSS in the classroom. I spent literally 2 hours reading her blog — and while I write blogs a lot and I look at educational blogs from time to time, I’ve never been HOOKED on one. I want to work with her. But since that isn’t possible, I’m going to steal all of her ideas.

I’ve stolen her interactive notebooks and I’ve changed quite a bit. I also plan on stealing her sentence analyzing process as well. It’s brilliant. I’ve started putting my lessons into this book as the semester goes along. I’m going to “beta-test” it on my new block section of English II next semester. I spent an entire week just creating this notebook and when I started getting some good pages, I ran up to Ms. Jessee’s room (the English I teacher) and breathlessly explained my idea. I’m unbelievably pumped about this. I think it’ll be a REALLY good way to keep track of student progress — and not just for me! The students themselves will be able to see exactly what they’re learning throughout the semester.

I plan on keeping a grade tracker sheet in the back of the book so the kids can keep track of assignments that are done outside of their notebooks. I also plan on using A LOT of interactive foldables in the book.

These are moments where I love my students and I love what I’m teaching and I love how I get to teach it.

MK

Check out the rest of my Interactive English II Notebook HERE. There are explanations of what the sections are in the captions of each picture.

One thought on “Kiss Those Binders Goodbye!

Any thoughts?

