Joe and Jon

I started off this should-have-been snow day with a cup’a joe and Jon Foreman. If you haven’t started your day like that, you should try it. It’s good for the soul.

I haven’t updated on my adventures in teaching in awhile, for a few reasons. One of those reasons is that professionally, my lips are sealed. I only wished to portray my awesome calling as it truly is: all the good, bad, and ugly. I am not ashamed of what I’ve written but do not want to cause a stumbling block for someone else, or to have my words misconstrued. That to say, I love my students and I love my job. I have been wrestling with my blogging tendencies but I feel like God uses my words for His purposes so I will continue to talk about the amazing things He’s doing in my classroom.

The truth is, with the two-ish snow days we had last week, along with MLK day… class has been rather chaotic. We’re currently going over Chinese poetry and everyone is being a bit stubborn. Today we will attempt to review poetry terms. My strongest desire is that the students see past their own personal bubbles and see the forest through the trees. If being a parent is anything like this overwhelming hope I have for my students, my own children are in for a ride.

The more I teach, the more I realize just how essential my field is for growing minds. I’m not trying to get them to remember Gilgamesh and Li Po, I am just trying to teach them that the world is a bigger place and there are so many ways to explore it and think about it. I’m teaching the future how to think, not what to think. But they beg of me to tell them what to think for the test.

I digress… Here’s to the teachers who didn’t get a snow day today. May you bless your class as God has blessed you.

MK

Any thoughts?

